Voluntary Recall Of Cheerios By General Mills, May Not Be Gluten Free
Hold the phone, your morning cereal may make you sick, it may not be that pesky virus gong around. Those sensitive to gluten or are following a gluten-free diet may want to read below. General Mills is recalling certain cereal products due to some boxes of Cheerios may be labeled gluten-free but contain wheat products. The company is voluntarily recalling Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios that were made at their Lodi, California facility, due to an incident that allowed wheat flour to be used in production of certain boxes of cereal.
General Mils asks customers to check the "better if used by " code dates on Honey Nut Cheerios boxes dated July 12-25, 2016. For example "12Jul2016 LD" through "25Jul2016 LD".
For the yellow boxes of original Cheerios, the dates are July 14-17, 2016.
Other General Mills Cheerios brands are not affected, according to a spokesperson; as they were made at different times and had no contamination incidents. There have been a few cases of individuals getting sick, no serious complications from the illness. General Mills wants to err on the side of caution, hence the voluntary recall.
Customers who want refunds or have questions should call General Mills consumer services at 800-775-8370.