There are people who define Country Music.  When you start naming the legends, Waylon Jennings will inevitably be mentioned.  Jennings, drawing from the influence of Buddy Holly, started his career in the 50's.  Not only did this impact his music, but in turn, is partially responsible for the music we hear on the radio today.  Although Waylon Jennings died in 2002, his music is still very much alive.

Major names in music are involved with the project which hit stores on February 8th, including Waylon Jennings' son, Shooter:

“There have been several tribute albums made in my father's honor, all of which were great tributes to his legacy. But this one has been a true passion project for a lot of artists and friends who truly wanted to remember and give back to the wonderful man he was,” says son Shooter Jennings. “In the years since my dad passed away, I've grown as an artist and I feel this is the first time I've truly been able to give back to the man who inspired, influenced and nurtured me and my musical passion.”

This first volume features Waylon's most critically and commercially acclaimed tracks, uniquely interpreted and performed by yesterday’s and today's country legends, including Kris Kristofferson, Jamey Johnson, Trace Adkins, Patty Griffin, Randy Houser and John Hiatt. Also included are new recordings by Shooter Jennings, Jessi Colter and the Jennings classic "Are You Sure Hank Done It This Way," the first new music in over ten years from super-group Alabama.


Official Track Listing:

1. This Time – Jamey Johnson

2. Are You Sure Hank Done It This Way – Alabama

3. I’m A Ramblin’ Man – Randy Houser

4. Belle of the Ball – Shooter Jennings

5. Good Hearted Woman – Sunny Sweeney and Jessi Colter

6. Don't You Think This Outlaw Bit's Done Got Out Of Hand – James Otto

7. Just To Satisfy You – John Hiatt w Waylon Jennings

8. Rose In Paradise – Kris Kristofferson and Patty Griffin

9. You Ask Me To – Trace Adkins

10. Go Down Rockin' – Waylon Jennings

(Bonus Track) The Wurlitzer Prize (I Don’t Want To Get Over You) – Chanel Campbell

THE MUSIC INSIDE: A COLLABORATION DEDICATED TO WAYLON JENNINGS, VOL. I will be released on ScatterRecords and Big Machine Records on February 8th. Volume II is scheduled to release on June 14, the day before what would have been Waylon’s 74th birthday. Volume III is slated to release Fall 2011, the day prior to Waylon and Jessi’s 42nd wedding anniversary.

For more information regarding the project, visit:

via Big Machine Records.