According to the National Highway Transportation Safety more than 1/3 of children under the age of 3, who died this past year, were not in car seats or wearing seat belts.  I have a child seat in my car, for my two-year old granddaughter Adalyn.  I always thought you buy a car seat, you install the seat in your car, buckle the child in and you are good to go.  Talking with my friend, Sergeant James Anderson with the Louisiana State Police, it isn't that easy.  After asking the important questions, I learned the important answers; answers that will save my granddaughter's life.  Do YOU think your child is restrained properly?  Have you sized the car seat to fit your child's weight and height?  Have you turned your child to a forward-facing position BEFORE they were big enough?

Join me as I get my granddaughter's car seat checked at the FREE car seat check being held tomorrow at Billy Navarre Honda on 1310 E. College Street from 12pm-3pm.  NO TICKETS will be given for improper car seat use, I love that! PLEASE, let's keep our children safe on the roads, one death is one death too many.

Louisiana State Law:

Birth to at least 1 year or less than 20 pounds:  Ride rear-facing in an infant or convertible seat

1 year old, but younger than 4 years old or 20 to 40 pounds:  Ride forward-facing in convertible or combination seat (used with the internal harness)

4 year old, but younger than 6 years old and weighs 40 to 60 pounds: Ride in a belt-positioning booster seat (backless or high-backed)

6 years old and weighs more than 60 Pound:  Ride using the vehicle lap-shoulder belt or belt- positioning booster seat