recently reported on all the movie franchises that Disney is acquiring after their purchase of FOX.  And its a ton!

One of the biggest concerns movie-goers have is the fact that Disney doesn't make rated R movies, and well, now they've inherited a whole bunch of them.  So only time will tell how the Disney will handle content that may be considered a total opposite from the brand they've built since 1928.

Sci-Fi and Fantasy:

  • "Avatar"
  • "Alien"
  • "Predator"
  • "Independence Day"
  • "Planet of the Apes"
  • "The Maze Runner"
  • "Percy Jackson"
  • "The Chronicles of Narnia"


  • "Night at the Museum"
  • "Ice Age"
  • "Alvin and the Chipmunks"
  • "Home Alone"


  • "X-Men"
  • "Fantastic Four"
  • "Wolverine"
  • "Deadpool"

Speaking of Deadpool.  Having a PG-13 Deadpool movie would absolutely ruin that franchise. Disney boss Bob Iger said, quote,

"We think there might be an opportunity for a Marvel-R brand for something like 'Deadpool'.  As long as we let the audiences know what's coming, we think we can manage that fine." - Bob Iger

Ryan Reynolds joked about the Disney buyout on Twitter.

Disney also acquired FOX television with series like:

  • "24"
  • "American Horror Story"
  • "Empire"
  • "Homeland"
  • "The X-Files"
  • "This Is Us"
  • "Family Guy"
  • "The Simpsons"

"Simpsons" creator James L. Brooks Tweeted a picture of Homer and Bart's first meeting with Mickey Mouse.

Ironically, The Simpsons predicted the merger over 20 years ago...see below!

More From Gator 99.5