The Arena Football League is not far from relaunching and now we know the sixteen locations that the AFL Organizations will call home and Lake Charles could be in the mix...

The Arena Football League was founded back in 1987 and was a four-team league. The four teams were the Pittsburgh Gladiators, Denver Dynamite, Washington Commandos, and the Chicago Bruisers. The league was shut down several years back after it had expanded.

In February 2023, the AFL announced they were going to make a comeback in 2024 and would play a complete 10-game season. Though the league hasn't announced the team names or organization groups yet, we now know where each team will be located

  • Austin
  • Boise
  • California
  • Chicago
  • Colorado
  • Minnesota
  • Louisiana
  • Ohio
  • Orlando
  • Oregon
  • Philadelphia
  • St. Louis
  • Tallahassee
  • Tennessee
  • Washington
  • West Texas

Through a report from TMZ Sports, it notes that Lake Charles will be the home of the Louisiana Arena Football League. According to the League's Website, the official relaunch and the kickoff of the 2024 season will be in April of 2024.

“We are extremely proud to share the initial markets that will serve as the foundation of the new era of the Arena Football League,” Fans in each community will have the opportunity to come together and create new identities, new traditions, and new memories to help catapult our league to thrilling heights. We’ve been working diligently to put the league and the respective member teams in the best position to deliver a competitive and entertaining product on the field and we simply can’t wait to return to the original innovators of indoor football in 2024.”  - AFL Commissioner Lee A. Hutton III said.  (perTMZSports)

We have not confirmed the reports from TMZ that the organization will be in Lake Charles, but stay tuned to our website to stay up to date with the official city location and arena location when it is announced.

Louisiana Foods For Game Day


More From Gator 99.5