The ACM Honors is starting a new award this year: the "Merle Haggard Spirit Award", which will go to an artist who represents Merle's quote, "Singular vision in carving an indelible path in country music."

After the passing of Merle Haggard this year, the Academy of Country Music has announced that they will institute a yearly tribute to the legendary musician. And, although the very first "Merle Haggard Spirit Award" recipient has yet to be announced, the ACM Board President Ken Tucker has five strong contenders in mind.

  • Chris Stapleton
  • Miranda Lambert
  • Blake Shelton
  • Zac Brown
  • Eric Church

So, who do you think should get the "Merle Haggard Spirit Award" on August 30th?

More From Gator 99.5